The R&A - Working for Golf

The Amateur Championship

The first Amateur Championship was held at Hoylake in 1885 where 44 players from 12 clubs contested a series of match play rounds. Former winners include Bobby Jones, Sergio Garcia and José María Olazábal. 

Today, the championship is one of the biggest and most prestigious amateur events in the world, with players competing in a mixed stroke play and match play format over 6 days. The winner secures exemptions to The Open Championship and the US Open, and by tradition, an invitation to play in the Masters Tournament.

2020 Amateur Championships | Highlights

Championship Overview

2019 Amateur Champion

James Sugrue (IRE)

Jovan Rebula won the 123rd Amateur Championship after a 3&2 victory int he 36-hole final at Royal Aberdeen.

James Sugrue savoured success on home soil to win The 124th Amateur Championship at Portmarnock. The Irishman thrilled around 3,000 spectators at the renowned links near Dublin to defeat Scotland’s Euan Walker in an exciting 36-hole final.

Sugrue was five up after nine holes but was forced to survive Walker’s comeback before clinching a one-hole win on the 18th. 

2020 Championship

Royal Birkdale

2020 Championship



Royal Birkdale
25-30 August 2020

The 125th Amateur Championship will be held at  Royal Birkdale 25-30 August 2020. 

In order to receive Government and Local Authority approval to proceed with the Championship, it is required to be played behind closed doors with no spectators and only essential/authorised personnel on-site.  To view the venue entrance policy please click here.

Contact details:

Royal Birkdale
Waterloo Rd
Tel: +44 (0) 1704 552020



2020 Championship




The first stage of the 2020 Championship involves 120 players each of whom plays two rounds of 18 holes over both courses.

The 64 lowest scores over the 36 holes will compete in the match play stage of the Championship. 

Each match will consist of one round of 18 holes, except the final which is contested over 36 holes.

The champion receives full exemptions to The Open Championship and the US Open, and by tradition, an invitation to play in the Masters Tournament.



2020 Championship



The Amateur Championship is one of the most prestigious golf tournaments in the world and was first played in 1885 at Hoylake.

The championship has visited 22 locations throughout Great Britain and Ireland with Hoylake hosting the greatest number of times (18), followed by St Andrews (16), Royal St George’s (14), Prestwick and Muirfield (both 11).

The trophy has been lifted by some of golf’s greatest names and the record for the for number of wins is eight and held by John Ball Jr, who also became the first English-born player to win The Open in 1890.

Sir Michael Bonallack has also won The Amateur five times and the USA’s Bobby Jones won the championship in 1930 as part of his famous Grand Slam. 

Other notable names to have been crowned Amateur champion include major winners José María Olazábal and Sergio Garcia, and the current Walker Cup captain Craig Watson.

In 2018 288 players from 38 countries across the world were represented at The Amateur Championship.

Championship News