The R&A - Working for Golf

R&A Womens Home Internationals

The R&A Womens Home Internationals was first played in 1902.

The championship is an annual event played over three days featuring teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Match Overview

2019 R&A Womens Home International Champions


2017 Ladies Home International Matches Winner Ireland

England were crowned champions at the rain-affected Women's Home Internationals after defeating Ireland in the deciding match at Downfield.

2020 MATCH

Royal St Davids

2020 MATCH



The 2020 Womens Home Internationals has been cancelled due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. These Matches will not be played in 2020.

The 2021 Womens Home Internationals will take place at Ganton, England from 4-6 August.



2020 MATCH



Teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales compete against each other in individual matches.

A match consists of three foursomes and six singles, each over the same 18 holes, with the foursomes being played first.

The scores are calculated by team results with each team scoring one point for a team win and half a point for a halved match.

If two or more countries score an equal number of team points and have each won the same number of individual games, the tie will be resolved by aggregating the number of holes played in the individual games won and the team with the fewest number of holes played is declared the winner.

The Home Internationals Trophy was presented to the Ladies’ Golf Union by Mr T.H. Miller and is awarded to the winning team. The Hugh C. Kelly Cup is awarded to the captain of the winning team.



2020 MATCH



The first R&A Home International Match was played between England and Ireland in 1895 at Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland.

The team from England featured founder and secretary of the Ladies’ Golf Union Issette Pearson.

The R&A Home Internationals were played at Royal Troon in 1904, which marked Scotland’s first appearance and victory in the match.

The following year saw the introduction of the coveted International Shield presented to the winning team.

In 1907 all the countries from Great Britain were represented when Wales competed in the Home Internationals.

Match News